In a blog post, Google explained “users found this experience unclear and it did not effectively communicate the risks associated with submitting data in insecure forms”.
As a result, Google are shaking up how they warn Chrome users about these ‘mixed forms’ with Chrome version 86, set to be released in October.
Chrome will warn users twice when they are trying to submit a mixed form – the first warning will appear as they are trying to fill out a text box. Underneath it a message will appear in red saying “this form is not secure autofill has been turned off”.
If users decide to continue on despite this warning or miss it entirely then they will be greeted with a full page alert when they try to submit the form.
This warning will say: “The information you’re about to submit is not secure. Because the site is using a connection that’s not completely secure, your information will be visible to others”.
Users will then have the option to submit the information, despite this warning, or go back a step. Outlining why this feature is being added, Google said: “Beginning in M86, Chrome will warn users when they try to complete forms on secure (HTTPS) pages that are submitted insecurely.