RED LIST: 47 countries have been removed including Mexico and Thailand

The Department for Transport (DfT) has announced that 47 countries will be removed from the 54-strong UK red list from Monday 11th October. This includes some favourite holiday hotspots such as Mexico, Thailand and all of Africa. 

This means that as of 4am on Monday, British nationals will be able to return from these countries without needing to isolate themselves in a quarantine hotel on their return.

And if you are double jabbed there is no need to quarantine at all. The only requirement will be to take a test within 72 hours of arriving home. The passenger locator form still needs to be completed.

This leaves just seven countries. These are:

Colombia, Ecuador, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Panama, Peru and Venezuela.

Hot on the heels of this news Transport secretary Grant Shapps has said that PCR testing will be scrapped in favour of the lateral flow testing for travel will happen “in the coming days”, saying the changes should come into effect “hopefully in time for people returning from half-term holidays, potentially, and certainly for the end of October”.