The PGA Tour heads to the TPC Southwind course in Memphis, Tennessee this week for the World Golf Championship-FedEx St. Jude Invitational. The tournament starts Thursday morning — without fans — and the fourth and final round will be played on Sunday. Here’s what you need to know to watch without a cable subscription.

gettyimages-1257105088

New world no. 1 player Jon Rahm leads the field in Memphis.


Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Is Tiger playing?

Nope. Tiger Woods is taking another week off from tournament golf but is expected back next week for the PGA Championship, the first of three majors this year.

Which big names are playing?

Of the top 50 players in the world, 45 are playing in Memphis this week, including new world No. 1 Jon Rahm along with Dustin Johnson, Brooks Koepka and Rory McIlroy.

How can I watch the tournament without cable?

You need the Golf Channel for the first two rounds and early coverage on the weekend. CBS has afternoon coverage of the final two rounds over the weekend. (Editors’ note: ViacomCBS is the parent company of CNET.)

Here’s the broadcast schedule:

Thursday and Friday

  • 2 p.m. to 7 p.m. ET (11 a.m. to 4 p.m. PT) on Golf Channel

Saturday

  • 12 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET (9 a.m. to 11 a.m. PT) on Golf Channel
  • 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. ET (11 a.m. to 3 p.m. PT) on CBS

Sunday

  • 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. ET (10 a.m. to 12 p.m. PT) on Golf Channel
  • 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. ET (12 noon to 4 p.m. PT) on CBS

If you don’t have a cable or satellite TV subscription, you can watch the tournament with one of the live TV services below. The catch is that not every service carries every local network, so check each one using the links below to make sure it carries CBS in your area for weekend coverage.

If you live in an area with good reception, you can watch the final two rounds on CBS for free on over-the-air broadcast channels just by attaching an affordable (under $30) indoor antenna to nearly any TV. 

Serious golf fans can watch live coverage of the tournament with a PGA Tour Live subscription from NBC Sports or from Prime Video. It costs $9.99 a month or $65 a year and features live group coverage and 10-minute round recaps of featured golfers.

Hulu with Live TV costs $55 a month and includes CBS and the Golf Channel. Click the “View channels in your area” link on its welcome page to see which local channels are offered in your ZIP code.

Read our Hulu with Live TV review.

AT&T TV Now’s basic $65-a-month Plus package includes CBS, and its $80-a-month Max package adds the Golf Channel. You can use its channel lookup tool to see which local channels are available where you live.

Read our AT&T TV Now review.

FuboTV costs $55 per month (going up to $60 on Aug. 1) and includes CBS and the Golf Channel. Click here to see which local channels you get.

Read our FuboTV review.

Sling TV does not offer CBS. For early-round action and the start of the weekend rounds, you can get the Golf Channel with the $10-a-month Sports Extra add-on to the $30-a-month Blue package.

Read our Sling TV review.

All of the live TV streaming services above offer free trials, allow you to cancel anytime and require a solid internet connection. Looking for more information? Check out our massive streaming services guide.


Now playing:
Watch this:

Ranking 101 US streaming services



13:05

source: cnet.com

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here