The year 2019 ended in spectacular style with a “Ring of Fire” eclipse of the Sun on December 26. Now, exactly two weeks after that cosmic event, some people can enjoy a Wolf Moon lunar eclipse coinciding with a Full Moon.

The Wolf Moon Eclipse will be visible from Europe, Africa, Asia and parts of Australia.

Weather permitting, observers in these areas will witness a surreal Full Moon on Friday, January 10.

North and South America will, however, miss out on seeing this lunar spectacle.

Fortunately, as a consolation, a few hours later January’s Full Wolf Moon will arrive in the skies around the world.

This stunning Full Moon will be visible both at moonrise and moonset.

READ MORE: NASA unveils stunning photo of ISS transiting Sun

What time will the Moon eclipse?

The penumbral lunar eclipse begins at 5.07pm GMT in Europe, Asia, Australia and Africa.

Western Europe is best-placed for those wanting to watch the Wolf Moon rise in the east followed quickly by the beginning of the penumbral lunar eclipse.

The maximum eclipse of the Moon will occur at 7.10pm GMT.

London: 7.10pm (GMT) on January 10

Mainland Europe: 8.10pm (CT) on January 10

Moscow: 10.10pm (DST) on January 10

New Delhi: 12.40am (DST) on January 11

Shanghai: 3.10am (UTC) on January 11

Perth: 3.10am (AWST) on January 11

How to see the Full Wolf Moon:

The name Full Wolf Moon is associated with early Native American tribes.

It is thought they observed hungry wolves howling outside their camps around the same time of year as this phenomenon.

The lunar event is also referred to as the Moon After Yule and the Old Moon.

To see the Full Wolf Moon, it is recommended to wait until the evening of January 10.

The head to an area with low light pollution and look out for the Moon.

Sitting in the dark for at least half an hour can help your eyes to adjust.

Remember to wrap up warm if you plan to be outdoors for a long period.

source: express.co.uk

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here