Anton du Beke’s 'hollow laugh’ was ‘warning’ to Emma after actress broke pro dancer rules

Anton du Beke had the Glitterball trophy in his grasp tonight, but he and partner Emma Barton just missed out on victory. He and Emma performed three routines, including a graceful number to Send in the Clowns.

“Emma broke the Strictly pro dancer ‘rules’ by openly admitting to errors and saying ‘I got collywobbles’ after losing it right at the start of her Fred and Ginger routine and Anton’s loud, hollow laugh as she said she would be happy to repeat the routine in the dance-off should have been a warning that you never admit any form of mistake or defeat in a Strictly finale.”

However, Emma and Anton will surely be proud of their performance overall during the series.

They scored a number of 10s from the judges, including at the legendary Blackpool Ballroom.

The pair can thank their connection for this, according to another body language expert, Darren Stanton.

Anton du Beke age: How old is Strictly final dancer? [AGE REVEALED] 
Emma Barton age defying looks- how old is the actress? [ACE FACTS] 
Emma Barton: Strictly star in tears amid final after injury [SHOCK NEWS] 

He said: “It’s clear from their dance they had practiced and practiced. Their rapport and connection seemed faultless.”

The expert claimed there was: “Genuine excitement and confidence from Emma. Her eyes were sparking and were so genuine.”

What is more, there is a “genuine friendship between her and Anton.”

The expert went on: “They are naturally very comfortable in each other’s space, denoted by lots of touching when getting feedback.

“Her eyes were wide like a child on Christmas Day, as if she couldn’t believe she has come to the final.”


2004 winner: Natasha Kaplinsky

Newsreader Natasha Kaplinsky was the first celebrity to win the BBC dancing series, which originally aired in July of 2004. She was partnered with Brendan Cole. They finished 39 points ahead of competitor Christopher Parker.

2004 winner: Jill Halfpenny

Jill Halfpenny was the second star to impress the judges with her dancing skills. Partnered with Darren Bennett, the pair beat off competition from Julian Clary and Denise Lewis in December of 2004.

2005 winner: Darren Gough

Cricketer Darren Gough won the third series of Strictly. He and partner Lilia Kopylova wowed audiences but never once finished at the top of the leaderboard.

2006 winner: Mark Ramprakash

Mark Ramprakash was the fourth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He was partnered with Karen Hardy and they were the first couple to restart a routine after their initial attempt saw Mark’s mic get caught in Karen’s dress.

2007 winner: Alesha Dixon

Before becoming a Strictly judge, Alesha Dixon won the nation’s hearts and the Glitterball Trophy during the fifth series. She was partnered with professional dancer Matthew Cutler.

2008 winner: Tom Chambers

Holby City star Tom Chambers was partnered with Camilla Dallerup when he won the sixth series. He performed the Foxtrot and Salsa in the final week.

2009 winner: Chris Hollins

BBC Breakfast presenter Chris Hollins and his professional partner Ola Jordan surprised viewers when they beat Ricky Whittle and his partner Natalie Lowe in the final. They wowed with the Foxtrot, Charleston, Lindy Hop and Showdance.

2010 winner: Kara Tointon

Kara Tointon was the eighth celebrity to win Strictly. She danced with Artem Chigvintsev and failed to receive 40 points throughout her time on the show.

2011 winner: Harry Judd

Former McFly star Harry Judd was the ninth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He didn’t top the leaderboard until week seven but then scored 40 points twice in the final.

2012 winner: Louis Smith

The tenth series of the BBC show was won by Olympian Louis Smith. He danced his way to victory with professional partner Flavia Cacace. He faced competition from Kimberley Walsh, Denise Van Outen and Danni Harmer in the series finale.

2013 winner: Abbey Clancy

Model Abbey Clancy won series eleven of Strictly alongside partner Alijaz Skorjanec. She was called a “spectacular dancer” with “wonderful posture” by former head judge Len Goodman.

2014 winner: Caroline Flack

Love Island host Caroline Flack took to the dance floor in series 12 where she scooped the Glitterball Trophy with Pasha Kovalev.

2015 winner: Jay McGuiness

Jay McGuiness surprised viewers when he won the thirteenth series of the BBC dancing competition with Aliona Vilani. When he learned he’d won, he told host Tess Daly: “I feel spaced out – it’s really weird.”

2016 winner: Ore Oduba

Ore Oduba won the thirteenth series of the BBC dancing competition with Joanne Clifton.

The sports presenter broke down in tears after beating Danny Mac and Louise Redknapp.

2017 winner: Joe McFadden

Joe McFadden was victorious with professional dance partner Katya Jones. The Holby City star beat off competition from fan favourite Debbie McGee, Gemma Atkinson and Alexandra Burke.

2018 winner: Stacey Dooley

Documentary-maker Stacey fought off competition to make it to the Grand Final of Strictly Come Dancing with professional dance partner Kevin Clifton last year. When they won, Kevin described her as “the most wonderful person”.