Google Home just received a colossal update that you need to try

Google Home is the American tech giant’s smart speaker solution that comes in a variety of models.

The smallest and most affordable version of the hardware is the Google Home Mini.

While the product sacrifices some audio quality in exchange for its minute aesthetic, it does offer the same Assistant functionality as its more premium brothers.

Google also sells a standard version of its Home speaker in addition to the Home Max that offers the best sound of the three.

Moreover, the firm also debuted the Google Home Hub last year that offers the popular Assistant features fans have come to expect but has a screen that can display contextual information.

At CES last month Google announced a new “interpreter mode” for its smart devices that promises to translate speech from one language to another in real-time.

Announcing the feature, the American tech giant said: “Speaking a different language no longer has to be a barrier to having a good conversation.

“With Interpreter Mode, a new feature rolling out over the next few weeks on Google Home devices and Smart Displays, you can ask the Google Assistant to help you have a conversation in dozens of languages.”

The Mountain View company declared the fresh functionality can be employed with simple voice commands.

Moreover, the firm also discussed the potential use cases for such a feature.

Google went on: “Just say ‘Hey Google, be my French interpreter’ to start Interpreter Mode and get real-time spoken and (on Smart Displays) written translation to aid the conversation.

“We see this technology expanding to more places—it could help you check in at a foreign hotel or help you understand the bus schedule.”

Once the user has turned on interpreter mode, any speech they say will then be translated into another selected dialect.

Moreover, if the tool is harnessed on smart displays such as the Google Home Hub the words translated will appear on-screen.

The feature was initially shown off at CES but is now rolling out to owners of Google Assistant-enabled speakers, as noted by Android Police.

The outlet insisted if users are unable to access the feature they should try restarting their devices manually by unplugging them, and then plugging them back in again.

This process should prompt the new update to be installed if has not been already.

Google has updated its Assistant support page to reflect the new improvement.

The tech behemoth has insisted in order to activate the new feature, users should speak in either English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, or Spanish.

Once the mode has been switched on, it can translate 26 different dialects.

They are:

• Czech

• Danish

• Dutch

• English

• Finnish

• French

• German

• Greek

• Hindi

• Hungarian

• Indonesian

• Italian

• Japanese

• Korean

• Mandarin

• Polish

• Portuguese

• Romanian

• Russian

• Slovak

• Spanish

• Swedish

• Thai

• Turkish

• Ukrainian

• Vietnamese