FIFA Best Awards: Who voted for who REVEALED as Luka Modric scoops the big prize

FIFA Best Awards

FIFA Best Awards: Who voted for who in for the big award tonight? (Image: EPA)

The Real Madrid and Croatia star ended 10 years of Ronaldo or Lionel Messi winning the top award after a stunning 12 months for club and country.

The 33-year-old reached the World Cup final with Croatia and won the Champions League for the fourth time as Madrid beat Liverpool.

Voting for tonight’s award was broken down into four sections: 25% public fans, 25% to members of the world’s media, 25% to national team coaches, and 25% national team captains.

After picking up the award he said: “It is a great honour and a beautiful feeling to stand here with this amazing trophy. First of all I would like to congratulate Mohamed and Cristiano.

“I am sure in the future you will have another opportunity to fight for this trophy.

“This award is not just mine. It is my teammates from Real Madrid and Croatia. Without my coaches I would not have won this. Without my family I would not be the player I am today.

“Thanks to my fans for all the great support and love they are showing me. It means a lot. Thanks to those who voted for me.

“I would just like to mention my footballing idol and former 1998 Croatia captain. He was my big inspiration and that team gave us belief we could create something in Russia.

FIFA Best Award

FIFA Best Award: Luka Modric won the top prize as player of the year (Image: EPA)

FIFA Best Award

FIFA Best Award: Luka Modric celebrated the award with his family in London (Image: EPA)

“This award shows that we can all become the best with hard work and dedication. All your dreams can come true.”

But how did his fellow professionals and the managers vote?

Modric received 29.05% of the vote beating Ronaldo in second with 19.08, Salah in third with 11.23, Kylian Mbappe with 10.52 and Messi in fifth with 9.81.

Who did the players vote for?

(Selected players only)

Lionel Messi – Luka Modric, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA Best Award

FIFA Best Award: Luka Modric and Marta show off their awards in London (Image: PA)

Eden Hazard – Luka Modric, Raphael Varane, Kylian Mbappe

Miranda – Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi

Luka Modric – Raphael Varane, Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann

Harry Kane – Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Kevin De Bruyne

Manuel Neuer – Eden Hazard, Luka Modric, Raphael Varane

Hugo Loris – Raphael Varane, Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe

FIFA Best Award

FIFA Best Award: Eden Hazard and Luka Modric were both included in the FIFA team of the year (Image: PA)

Giorgio Chiellini – Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric, Mohamed Salah

Virgil van Dijk – Mohamed Salah, Kevin De Bruyne, Kylian Mbappe

Cristiano Ronaldo – Raphael Varane, Luka Modric, Antoine Griezmann

Robert Lewandowski – Luka Modric, Raphael Varane, Kylian Mbappe

Sergio Ramos – Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi

FIFA Best Award

FIFA Best Award: Mohamed Salah won the Puskas Award for best goal of the year (Image: EPA)

Who did the managers vote for?

(Selected managers only)

Roberto Martinez – Luka Modric, Raphael Varane, Lionel Messi

Gareth Southgate – Luka Modric, Raphael Varane, Eden Hazard

Didier Deschamps – Antoine Griezmann, Raphael Varane, Kylian Mbappe

Joachim Low – Luka Modric, Kylian Mbappe, Eden Hazard

FIFA Best Awards

FIFA Best Awards: Didier Deschamps took the award for top boss (Image: GETTY)

Roberto Mancini – Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Luka Modric

Alex Mcleish – Mohamed Salah, Eden Hazard, Luka Modric

Luis Enrique – Lionel Messi, Luka Modric, Mohamed Salah

Ryan Giggs – Luka Modric, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA Best Awards

FIFA Best Awards: The biggest winners of the night pose for pictures (Image: AFP)

France’s World Cup-winning boss Didier Deschamps claimed the coach of the year title ahead of Croatia’s Zlatko Dalic and Zinedine Zidane, formerly of Real.

Deschamps said: “We all know that being a coach, alone we can’t do anything, We are nothing without our players and I want to thank my whole team who worked to get me here and get me this trophy tonight.”

Brazil’s Marta collected her sixth women’s player of the year award, but her first since 2010 after finishing as runner-up on three occasions during the intervening years, while former Chelsea keeper Thibaut Courtois was named goalkeeper of the year.

While Salah surprised many as he won the Puskas Award for goal of the year for his strike against Everton, beating Gareth Bale’s Champions League final effort.

Olympique Lyonnais Feminin boss Reynald Pedros was named FIFA’s women’s coach of the year.

Who won what?

The Best Fifa Men’s Player – LUKA MODRIC

Luka Modric (Real Madrid & Croatia)

The Best Fifa Women’s Player – MARTA

Marta (Orlando Pride & Brazil)


David De Gea, Dani Alves, Raphael Varane, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modric, N’Golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo

The Best Fifa Women’s Coach – REYNALD PEDROS

Reynald Pedros (Lyon)

The Fifa Fan Award – PERU SUPPORTERS

Peru supporters – World Cup

The Fifa Fair Play Award – LENNANT THY

Lennart Thy missed a game for VVV-Venlo against PSV. Instead of playing he went to donate stem cells to try and help a Leukaemia patient.

The Fifa Puskas Award (best goal) – MOHAMED SALAH

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool vs Everton)

The Best Fifa Men’s Coach – DIDIER DESCHAMPS

Didier Deschamps (France)

The Fifa Goalkeeper Award – THIBAUT COURTOIS

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium & Real Madrid)