England vs Argentina: Eddie Jones names team for Twickenham test

England beat Argentina twice with an under-strength side on their summer tour.

Seven players – Mike Brown, George Ford, Dylan Hartley, Nathan Hughes, Chris Robshaw, Henry Slade and Sam Underhill – retain their place from the side that started the 35-25 win in Sante Fe.

But Jones has brought Lions Dan Cole, Mako Vunipola, George Kruis, Courtney Lades, Ben Youngs, Jonathan Joseph, Elliot Daly and Anthony Watson back into the starting side. 

“As a squad we have been preparing for this game since our first camp in August and are excited about playing in front of 82,000 fans at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday,” Jones said.

“This is our best 23 selected in what is our most important game this year. We know that Argentina is a strong team – Rugby World Cup semi finalists in 2015 – and we will have to be smart and play well to beat them.”

Yesterday forwards Tom Dunn, Nick Isiekwe, Charlie Ewels, Sam Simmonds and Zach Mercer, and backs Piers Francis and Denny Solomona were released from the squad.

Daly gets a start ahead of Jonny May after the Leicester wing failed to recover from a hamstring injury.

Henry Slade will also be looking to impress, while Owen Farrell and are Itoje are rested.

England team to play Argentina

Starting 15

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins 62 caps)

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 26 caps)

13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 33 caps)

12 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs 7 caps)

11 Elliot Daly (Wasps 13 caps)

10 George Ford (Bath Rugby 37 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers 70 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 42 caps)

2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 86 caps) captain

3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 74 caps)

4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 58 caps)

5 George Kruis (Saracens 20 caps)

6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 56 caps)

7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 1 cap)

8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 10 caps)


16 Jamie George (Saracens 17 caps)

17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers 3 caps)

18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 2 caps)

19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 44 caps)

20 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks 1 cap)

21 Danny Care (Harlequins 73 caps)

22 Alex Lozowski (Saracens 2 caps)

23 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby 2 caps)